Contact BayTrust

Contact BayTrust

FreePhone 0800 654 546

Phone (07) 578 6546



Level 1, 752 Cameron Road,

Facebook Button

About Us

The Trust was formed in 1988 as the Trust Bank Bay of Plenty Community Trust to hold shares in the Trust Bank Group for the benefit of Bay of Plenty Communities In 1996 this share, along with all the other shares in the Trust Bank Group, was sold to the Westpac Bank and the sale proceeds of approximately $90m invested by the Trust.

Our name changed by dropping the “Trust Bank” part in 1998 and changed again to BayTrust in March 2006 to give the Trust a shorter more easily remembered name. We are known as BayTrust, but our official name is the Bay of Plenty Community Trust Incorporated.

Our Area is from Katikati to Turangi to Cape Runaway including Rotorua, Taupo, Tauranga and Whakatane. 


Where does BayTrust get its money and how does it spend it?

The original fund resulted from the sale of the Trustbank shares to Wetspac Bank in 1996.

The Trust now has a fund of approximately $203m (at 31 March 2020) invested in a carefully planned, diversified way, both locally and globally. Returns from these investments form the Trust’s income and are distributed to Bay of Plenty community groups by way of grants (and sometimes loans).

The Trustees aim to re-invest enough income each year to cover inflation and some population growth in the Bay of Plenty, plus in good income years to put some funds aside to cover grants in poorer income years.

BayTrust's income is primarily spent on community groups serving the Bay of Plenty, in order to help build, strengthen and enhance present and future BOP communities. We generally aim to distribute approximately three per cent of our capital base per year.


Help us to Improve 

If you feel there's something we can do better, we would like to know about it. You can let us know by emailing, or alternatively by emailing our CEO Alastair Rhodes at: All complaints will receive a careful hearing, a thorough and objective investigation and a response.

BayTrust is also Registered Financial Services Provider and all complaints related to that role will be dealt with in terms of the FSCL Practical Guide for Members. You can find out more about this by visiting, including how to lodge a complaint


At BayTrust, we are committed to ensuring the privacy of information. To read our privacy policy please follow this link: BayTrust Privacy Policy




No items found