5 Quick Facts About Our Board of Trustees

  1. The Board is the governing body of the BayTrust and currently has 12 members. They are appointed by the Minister of Finance for four-year terms.
  2. The Board has among its members a balanced representation from throughout the Bay of Plenty and community, investment, legal and financial expertise to enable the Trust to apply broad-based skills and wisdom to it’s governance standards.
  3. The Board is responsible for the policy direction of the BayTrust. This includes strategic planning, budgets and Investments, Grants and other Policies. It delegates the day-to-day management of the Trust to the Chief Executive.
  4. The Board operates under a Charter which includes a Code of Conduct in which all Trustees commit to acting ethically and professionally and to avoid conflicts of interest with respect to their fiduciary responsibilities.
  5. The Board has four standing committees: Audit, Governance, Investments and Dillon Scholarship.

Taupo Trustees

Nigel McAdie

Nigel McAdie

Nigel McAdie

Lawyer, Taupo

Chair - Audit and Risk Committee

What motivated you to be involved with BayTrust?

The opportunity to be involved in an organisation that strives to make a measurable difference to peoples’ lives. 

What are you most passionate about in supporting the community?

The focus on the first 1000 days and youth initiatives.  If we can work with our community to build a strong foundation for the future, then we will all stand to benefit in the long term.

What are your three favourite things about the local community where you live?

The people, the environment and the buzz of living in a resort town, being New Zealand’s event capital – there’s always something happening.

What are you excited about for the future in the Bay of Plenty?

The growth being experienced in the Bay of Plenty is exciting – but this also comes with challenges.  We need to make sure everyone has the opportunity to grow and prosper – hence the Trust’s vision “Bay of Plenty is the greatest place to be”. 

Judy Harris

Judy Harris