5 Quick Facts About Our Board of Trustees

  1. The Board is the governing body of the BayTrust and currently has 12 members. They are appointed by the Minister of Finance for four-year terms.
  2. The Board has among its members a balanced representation from throughout the Bay of Plenty and community, investment, legal and financial expertise to enable the Trust to apply broad-based skills and wisdom to it’s governance standards.
  3. The Board is responsible for the policy direction of the BayTrust. This includes strategic planning, budgets and Investments, Grants and other Policies. It delegates the day-to-day management of the Trust to the Chief Executive.
  4. The Board operates under a Charter which includes a Code of Conduct in which all Trustees commit to acting ethically and professionally and to avoid conflicts of interest with respect to their fiduciary responsibilities.
  5. The Board has four standing committees: Audit, Governance, Investments and Dillon Scholarship.

Eastern Bay Of Plenty Trustees

Mawera Karetai

Mawera Karetai

Mawera Karetai

What motivated you to be involved with BayTrust? 

I believe in the values of BayTrust and I wanted to be part of the team that turns the words to actions.

What are you most passionate about in supporting the community?

Making the most of BOP life for our Tamariki and Rangatahi. I want the kids in our community to reflect on growing up here and be happy with their memories.

What are your three favourite things about the local community where you live?

-People still care for each other

-We can live off the land

-There is so much untapped potential for sustainable growth.

What are you excited about for the future in the Bay of Plenty?

I am excited that we have a future. For a long while, the naysayers insisted the BOP would suffer from population migration, leading to failing communities. In fact, the opposite has happened, because many of us chose to lead successful communities. Let’s keep moving forward!